The Governing Body's aim is to work closely with the Headteacher, the Deputy, and the staff, in order to help the children at the school achieve their full potential, in a happy, caring environment.

The key elements in achieving this aim are listed below:

  • Monitoring the performance and progress of all the children at the school.
  • Supporting the staff to teach and care for the children.
  • In discussion with the Headteacher, ensuring that the resources of the school are best utilised.
  • Forward planning with the Headteacher and Deputy to ensure that the overall performance of staff, children, and hence the school, continues to improve.

To enable the Governors to achieve these objectives, the Body is made up of key groups within the school, parents, staff, the Local Authority, the Church and the community. Some of the Governors are appointed by the Diocese, whilst others are elected. All serve for a term of three years.

The Body generally meets once a term; a number of sub-committees focus on finance, staffing, buildings, health and safety and the curriculum. Individual members of the Body focus on particular subjects, ie. numeracy, literacy, ICT, etc.

We welcome views from our parents and supporters, and hopefully this summary will give you a brief insight into the role of the Governing Body.

Mrs Tracey Smith
Chair of Governors

School Governing Body

Name Role
Mrs Tracey Smith Chair of Governors, Foundation Governor
Mr Simon Bragington Foundation Governor
Ms Antonia Frain Foundation Governor
Mr Justin Grey Foundation Governor
Mrs Elaine Martin Foundation Governor
Mrs Lynne O’Rourke Foundation Governor
Mrs Dawn Richards Foundation Governor
Mr Justin Gray Foundation Governor
Mr Gerard Jackson Parent Governor
Mrs Emily Lockley Parent Governor
Mr Gareth Moore Local Authority Governor
Ms Julie-Anne Tallon Headteacher
Mrs Michelle Morgan Staff Governor
Mrs Clare Wilde Co-opted Governor
Mrs Jackie McCorriston Clerk to the Governors

Also see:

If you would like to contact the Governing Body, please send a letter marked for the attention of the Chair of Governors to the school address.