Annual Awards

At the end of the school year we are delighted to present some special awards to pupils who have excelled in one capacity or another throughout the year.

Tierney Trophy Winner

This trophy is named after Mr Tierney who was headteacher at Abbey Primary for 27 years.

The trophy is awarded to the student who demonstrates 100% effort and perseverance in everything they do. Displaying the Abbey Values throughout their time at the Abbey is recognized in this award.

McGreevy Trophy Winner

The McGreevy Trophy is always a very special trophy amongst the annual awards as it is voted for by the pupils themselves. The trophy is in memory of a long-serving governor at the Abbey who was dedicated to the school and all it embodies.

The pupils are asked to vote for a peer who they believe best represents Abbey Values and whom they will be proud to say in the future 'that's the type of person that represents Abbey Catholic Primary School'.

Lyons Drama Trophy Winner

The Lyons Trophy is awarded for contribution to drama and performing arts.

There are numerous opportunities to display this talent at the Abbey, from Reception’s Nativity, through to the Shakespeare School’s Festival in Year 6. The choir at the Abbey is a thriving force, with performances throughout the city.

Crombie Shield for Maths

This shield is awarded to the pupil who consistently tries their best in maths and doesn't allow themselves to be defeated by a challenge.